Close
Do you have a question?

Contact us

Thank you, your request has been sent!
Ooops, something happened during filling!
Contact
Free Demo
Twitter

How to represent the data of 2200 spaces aesthetically and in real time?

Design

2207 museums in 64 countries took part in Museum Week 2015 Twitter for a week. Each work was generated from data collected on the museums' Twitter accounts such as their profile picture, tweets and general activity in the days leading up to the event. After being exhibited at the Cité de l'Architecture et du Patrimoine during the event, the work is still available here.

Concept

Carried out in collaboration with Marcin Ignac, this project highlighted the role of art exhibitors in museums by transforming them, in turn, into works of art.

Two guiding threads were put at the centre of the work. The first, aesthetics, took on an architectural form, embodying the museum as a permanent institution. A growing spiral illustrates the number of years the museum has been on Twitter. The twitter ID draws the peripheral elements of the structure, and the number of "followers" determines its level of complexity. Each tweet generated by the museum appears in a spherical form in this structure. Finally, a final customization step consists in determining the colors based on the profile picture of the museum. With each tweet containing the #museumweek, a beam of light passes through the structure.

The "flow" is the second structuring element of the work. It is the intensity of the number of tweets: to each new tweet tweet was added an element that levitated around the structure. Thus, the public could feel the mass of interaction generated on Twitter by the #museumweek.

Project Details

Data Created:

Friday, November 18, 2016

Client:

Twitter

Data from 2200 museums generate 2200 live works in real time.

2207 museums in 64 countries took part in Museum Week 2015 Twitter for a week. Each work was generated from data collected on the museums' Twitter accounts such as their profile picture, tweets and general activity in the days leading up to the event. After being exhibited at the Cité de l'Architecture et du Patrimoine during the event, the work is still available here.

"2,207 museums were able to generate a real-time work related to their data."

Carried out in collaboration with Marcin Ignac, this project highlighted the role of art exhibitors in museums by transforming them, in turn, into works of art.

Two guiding threads were put at the centre of the work. The first, aesthetics, took on an architectural form, embodying the museum as a permanent institution. A growing spiral illustrates the number of years the museum has been on Twitter. The twitter ID draws the peripheral elements of the structure, and the number of "followers" determines its level of complexity. Each tweet generated by the museum appears in a spherical form in this structure. Finally, a final customization step consists in determining the colors based on the profile picture of the museum. With each tweet containing the #museumweek, a beam of light passes through the structure.

The "flow" is the second structuring element of the work. It is the intensity of the number of tweets: to each new tweet tweet was added an element that levitated around the structure. Thus, the public could feel the mass of interaction generated on Twitter by the #museumweek.

"Bright understood our needs perfectly and had the ability to create incredible bridges between our technology and art."

Project Details

Client:

Twitter

Date:

November 18, 2016

Team:

Abdel Bounane - Art Direction & Marcin Ignac - Design & Data-Mining

Distribution :

Web - Twitter - Cité du Patrimoine et de l'architecture

More information?

Contact us
We love what we do!

Related Projects

Do you have a question? Contact us now!

Contact Us

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Free Demo
Contact
+33 1 82 83 66 63
Français

Fermer
Vous avez une question?

Contactez-nous

Merci, votre demande a bien été envoyée !
Ooops, quelque chose s'est produit lors du remplissage !
Contact
Free Demo
Twitter

Comment représenter esthétiquement et en temps réel les data de 2200 espaces ?

Design

2207 Musées dans 64 pays ont pris part, pendant une semaine, à la Twitter Museum Week 2015 Chaque oeuvre se générait à partir de données récoltées sur les comptes Twitter des musées comme leur photo de profil, leurs tweets et l’activité générale durant les jours ayant précédé l’événement. Après avoir été exposée à la Cité de l’Architecture et du Patrimoine durant l’événement,  l’oeuvre est toujours disponible ici.

Concept

Réalisé en collaboration avec Marcin Ignac, ce projet a mis en avant le rôle d’exposant d’art des musées en les transformant eux-mêmes, à leur tour, en oeuvre d’art.

Deux fils directeurs ont été mis au centre de l’oeuvre. Le premier, l’esthétique, a pris une forme architecturale, incarnant le musée comme institution permanente. Une spirale s’agrandissant illustre le nombre d’années de présence du musée sur Twitter. Le twitter ID dessine les éléments périphériques de la structure, et le nombre de «followers» en détermine le niveau de complexité. Chaque tweet généré par le musée apparaît sous une forme sphérique dans cette structure. Enfin, une dernière étape de personnalisation consiste en la détermination des couleurs d’après la photo de profil du musée. A chaque tweet contenant le #museumweek, un faisceau de lumière traversait la structure.

Le “flow” est le deuxième élément structurant de l’oeuvre. Il s’agit de l’intensité du nombre de tweets : à chaque, nouveau tweet  tweet s’ajoutait un élément qui lévitait autour de la structure. Ainsi, le public pouvait ressentir  la masse d'interaction générée sur Twitter par le #museumweek.

Project Details

Data Created:

Friday, November 18, 2016

Client:

Twitter

Les data de 2200 musées génèrent 2200 œuvres vivantes en temps réel

2207 Musées dans 64 pays ont pris part, pendant une semaine, à la Twitter Museum Week 2015 Chaque oeuvre se générait à partir de données récoltées sur les comptes Twitter des musées comme leur photo de profil, leurs tweets et l’activité générale durant les jours ayant précédé l’événement. Après avoir été exposée à la Cité de l’Architecture et du Patrimoine durant l’événement,  l’oeuvre est toujours disponible ici.

“2207 musées ont pu générer en temps réel une œuvre réliée à leurs données.”

Réalisé en collaboration avec Marcin Ignac, ce projet a mis en avant le rôle d’exposant d’art des musées en les transformant eux-mêmes, à leur tour, en oeuvre d’art.

Deux fils directeurs ont été mis au centre de l’oeuvre. Le premier, l’esthétique, a pris une forme architecturale, incarnant le musée comme institution permanente. Une spirale s’agrandissant illustre le nombre d’années de présence du musée sur Twitter. Le twitter ID dessine les éléments périphériques de la structure, et le nombre de «followers» en détermine le niveau de complexité. Chaque tweet généré par le musée apparaît sous une forme sphérique dans cette structure. Enfin, une dernière étape de personnalisation consiste en la détermination des couleurs d’après la photo de profil du musée. A chaque tweet contenant le #museumweek, un faisceau de lumière traversait la structure.

Le “flow” est le deuxième élément structurant de l’oeuvre. Il s’agit de l’intensité du nombre de tweets : à chaque, nouveau tweet  tweet s’ajoutait un élément qui lévitait autour de la structure. Ainsi, le public pouvait ressentir  la masse d'interaction générée sur Twitter par le #museumweek.

“Bright a parfaitement compris nos besoins et a eu la capacité à créer des passerelles incroyables entre notre technologie et l’art.”

Project Details

Client :

Twitter

Date :

November 18, 2016

Team :

Abdel Bounane - Direction artistique & Marcin Ignac - Design & Data-Mining

Distribution :

Web - Twitter - Cité du Patrimoine et de l'architecture

Un complément d'informations ?

Contactez-nous
We love what we do!

Related Projects

Do you have a question? Contact us now!

Contact Us

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Démo gratuite
Contact
+33 1 82 83 66 63
Français